Sunday, July 21, 2024


Vijay Kumar the only teacher from Himachal selected for National Teacher Award

ARVIND SHARMA | September 05, 2023 11:10 PM

DHARAMSALA: Vijay Kumar, the only teacher from Himachal Pradesh, has been selected for the prestigious National Teacher Award this year . President Draupadi Murmu presented him with this honor at Vigyan Bhawan in Delhi today . Kumar, a mathematics lecturer at Mohatli School in Kangra district, completed his studies up to class 10th at the same institution.

Kumar's exceptional work in the field of education led to his selection for the National Teacher Award. At the age of 47, he effectively utilizes Information and Communication Technology (ICT) to teach mathematics to his students. To simplify the teaching of math, Kumar established a smart classroom at his school. Additionally, he created the state's first Mathematics Park, providing a unique learning environment for his students. Kumar incorporates various ICT tools such as Dynamic Geometry Software, GeoGebra, Desmos, and Computer Algebra Software to enhance the understanding of mathematics among his students.

In 2022, Kumar was also honored with the Full-Bright Teaching Award from the United States-India Educational Foundation. During his 50-day visit to Florida, he further honed his teaching skills. Over the past five years, not a single student taught by Kumar has failed in mathematics, with 70% of them achieving more than 75% marks. To support struggling students, he organizes extra classes and groups them for personalized attention. Additionally, Kumar arranges online math quizzes and surprise offline quiz competitions.

Having dedicated his teaching career to Kangra district for the past 22 years, Kumar shared that he has exclusively served in this region.

Before the selection for the National Teacher Award, the State Level Selection Committee along with Vijay Kumar sent the names of three people for the National Award. Vijay Kumar's name was finalized for the National Teacher Award on the basis of the interview of the committee constituted for the award at the central level.

Have something to say? Post your comment