Friday, September 29, 2023


BJP Mayor elected in Chandigarh

IANS | January 18, 2023 11:14 AM

CHANDIGARH: The Bjp on Tuesday won all the three seats in the mayoral elections for tehe eighth consecutive time to maintain its sway in the municipal corporation(MC).

Anup Gupta was elected the new mayor. He defeated his rival Jasbir Singh of the AAP by one vote. Similarly, the BJP's Kanwarjeet Singh and Harjeet Singh defeated AAP nominates by one vote each to claim the seats of senior deppputy mayor and deputy mayor.

A total of 29 votes in the 36-member house (1 vote of MP as an ex-officiomemeber) were cast in all the three elections. With both the BJP and the AAP having 14 councillors each, it was local MP Kirron Kher's vote that helped the saffron party clinch the victory-- one that was also aided by all six unicipal councillors of the Congress and the lone councillor of the Shiromani Akali Dal(SAD) abstaining. The Congress had announced much earlier it would not support either the aap pr the BJP.

Have something to say? Post your comment