Tuesday, January 31, 2023


SAD expands core committee to bring in new talent and give representation to all sections of society

AMRIK SINGH | November 30, 2022 08:39 PM

CHANDIGARH: The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) has given a new look to the party by inducting talent from all sections of society into its core committee which has been expanded to twenty five with the induction of twelve more leaders.

In a first, the party has made the President of the Youth Akali Dal (YAD) and the Istri Akali Dal ex officio members of the core committee to bring in more cohesion in decision making.

The party has also given due representation to all sections of society. New entrants include former minister Anil Joshi and N K Sharma besides Dr Sukhwinder Sukhi and Pawan Kumar Tinu. Backward classes leader Sunita Chaudhary has also been inducted into the core committee.

The SAD has for the first time also created an Advisory Board to the President, SAD – Sukhbir Singh Badal. Members of the new Advisory Board include senior leaders Charanjit Singh Atwal, Kirpal Singh Badungar, Bibi Upinderjit Kaur, Baldev Singh Mann, Madan Mohal Mittal, Parkash Chand Garg, Vir Singh Lapoke, Varinder Singh Bajwa and Jarnail Singh Wahid.

Former chief minister Parkash Singh Badal has been designated as the Chief Patron while senior leader Ranjit Singh Brahmpura has been designated as Patron of the party. Paramjit Singh Sarna and Naresh Gujral have been nominated as Special Invitees to the core committee.

The detailed core committee is as fellows – President, SAD, President Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee, Balwinder Singh Bhundar, Maheshinder Singh Grewal Prof. Prem Singh Chandumajra, Gulzar Singh Ranike, Sikandar Singh Maluka, Anil Joshi, Janmeja Singh Sekhon, Dr. Daljit Singh Cheema, Sharanjit Singh Dhillon, Bikram Singh Majithia, Surjit Singh Rakhra, Hira Singh Gabaria, NK Sharma, Iqbal Singh Jhunda, Dr. Sukhwinder Sukhi, Gurpratap Singh Wadala, Pawan Kumar Tinu, Virsa Singh Valtoha, Gurbachan Singh Babbehali, Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal, Sunita Chaudhary and Presidents of Youth Akali Dal and Istri Akali Dal.

Have something to say? Post your comment