Monday, March 04, 2024


Bibi Jagir Kaur Inaugurates Solar Power Plant At Golden Temple

AMRIK SINGH | October 27, 2021 10:40 AM

AMRITSAR: Bibi Jagir Kaur, President, Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC) today inaugurated a solar power plant at Sachkhand Sri Harmandir Sahib to reduce the cost of electricity.

 The service of the plant was handed over by the SGPC  to the United Sikh Mission USA, which has completed a section in a short span of time. Out of the total 3 MW plant being set up, a capacity of 525 KW has been installed at the headquarters and inns of the Shiromani Committee and Dharam Prachar Committee.

 Speaking after the inauguration of the plant, Bibi Jagir Kaur said that there was a great need today to generate electricity using natural resources. This task is very easy in today's technological age, which has been initiated by the Shiromani Akali Dal on a priority basis.

She said that a total of 3 MW solar power plant was to be set up by the SGPC for which United Sikh Mission USA was providing services.

She  said that only 500 KW plant has been set up on the buildings near Golden Temple while the rest would be set up at Gurdwara Gurusar Satlani Sahib near Amritsar. So the process is almost complete and will be ready soon.

She  also informed that the work of setting up of solar power plants at Gurdwara Bir Baba Buddha Sahib Thatta and Gurdwara Shaheed Ganj Baba Deep Singh Sri Amritsar was also underway.

 The SGPC President said that solar energy was a viable alternative which would be exploited. This will not only preserve the natural environment but also bring financial benefits.

 On this occasion the President of the Shiromani Committee Bibi Jagir Kaur called on the Chairman of United Sikh Mission USA Mr. Rashpal Singh Dhindsa and other delegates were honored with Guru Blessings.

On this occasion Singh Sahib Giani Gurminder Singh, General Secretary of the Shiromani Committee Advocate Bhagwant Singh Sialka, Chief Secretary Advocate Harjinder Singh Dhami, Intimate Member  Bhupinder Singh Bhalwan, Member Bhai Rajinder Singh Mehta, Bhai Manjit Singh Bhurakohna, Bhai Gurcharan Singh Grewal, Bibi Kiranjot Kaur, Bibi Kuldeep Kaur Tohra, . Harpal Singh Jalla, . Amarjit Singh Bhalaipur,   Surjit Singh Tugalwal,   Gurnam Singh Jassal,   Amarjit Singh Bandala, . Jarnail Singh Dogranwala,   Amrik Singh Vichhoa,   Sukhpreet Singh Rode, Additional Secretary, Shiromani Committee. Sukhdev Singh Bhurakohna, Deputy Secretary Kulwinder Singh Ramdas, . Dr. Simarjit Singh Kang, OSD Amrik Singh Latifpur, Dr. Sukhbir Singh, Superintendent Malkit Singh Bahirwal, Chairman, United Sikh Mission Rashpal Singh Dhindsa, Dr. N. P. Singh, . Avtar Singh,   Bhupinder Singh, Bibi Manjit Kaur Dhindsa, Ranjit Singh, Sulukhan Singh, S. Paramjit Singh Mann, Mr. Ujasvi Sharma etc. were present.

Have something to say? Post your comment