Saturday, August 13, 2022

Elections 2022

Cong announces candidates for all three seats in Rupnagar district

BAHADURJIT SINGH | January 15, 2022 07:24 PM

CM Channi to contest from Chamkaur Sahib, Rana KP Singh from Anandpur Sahib and Barinder Dhillon to contest from Rupnagar
RUPNAGAR: Congress has announced its candidates for all the three assembly constituency of Rupnagar district. The party has fielded Punjab chief minister Charanjit Singh Channi from Chamkaur Sahib(reserve) constituency , Punjab assembly speaker Rana KP Singh from Anandpur Sahib constituency while it has fielded Punjab youth congress president Barinder Singh Dhillon from Rupnagar conhstituency.

All the three candidates announced by the Congress had contested the last assembly elections in 2017 from the same constituencies.

While three time MLAs Charanjit Singh Channi and Rana KP Singh had won their respective seats in 2017, Barinder Dhillon had lost the election.

Channi had won the election as an independent candidate in 2007 and on Congress ticket in 2012 and 2017.On the other hand Rana KP Singh had won the election from Nangal constituency twice in 2002 and 2007 and had lost from newly created Anandpur Sahib constituency , of which Nangal is now a part, in 2002.He had elected to state assembly for the third time in 2017 from Anandpur Sahib constituency.

Shiromani Akali Dal-BSP alliance and Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) have already announced their candidates from three assembly constituencies of the district while BJP and Samyukat Samaj Morcha are yet to announce their candidates.

A clear picture in these constituencies is likely to emerge after the announced of candidates by BJP and Samyukat Samaj Morcha in the coming days.

Have something to say? Post your comment