Saturday, August 13, 2022

Elections 2022

Campaign to link voter ID cards with Aadhaar started

KAPURTHALA:Deputy Commissioner cum District Election Officer Vishesh Sarangal has said that the Election Commission of India has started a campaign to link voter cards with Aadhaar from August 1 with a purpose to verify the voters registered in the voter list.

More Opportunities for youth to become part of voters list

CHANDIGARH:17+ year old youngsters can now apply in advance for having their names enrolled in Voter’s list and not necessarily have to await the pre-requisite criterion of attaining age of 18 years on 1st January of a year.

ECI makes provision for furnishing aadhaar or 11 other alternative documents for authentication of electors

CHANDIGARH:The Election Commission of India (ECI) has made it optional for voters to furnish their Aadhaar Card details by introducing a new Form-6B, which will come into force from August 1, 2022.

Vidhan Sabha members can caste vote through prescribed form at headquarters of other states or Delhi

CHANDIGARH: For the purpose of the Presidential Election, the Election Commission of India has fixed the Committee Room 'A' of the Punjab Vidhan Sabha Secretariat, Chandigarh, as the place of poll which will take place between 10.00 am to 5.00 pm, on Monday, the 18th July, 2022 for elected Members of the Punjab Legislative Assembly.

From 'Congress Bureau of Investigation' to BJP's 'Election Directorate'

NEW DELHI: Political opponents of the Bharatiya Janata Party allege that the ED, IT department and the CBI are being misused by the party to fix rivals. The ED has become the "Election Directorate" of the the BJP, they said, while the CBI was once called the Congress Bureau of Investigation.

Oppn leaders to meet on Monday ahead of Sinha's nomination

NEW DELHI: Ahead of nomination of Yashwant Sinha, the opposition presidential candidate, the leaders of the Opposition parties will be meeting on Monday in Parliament. NCP supremo Sharad Pawar who is firefighting the Maharashtra crisis has landed in Delhi for the meet. The opposition has been put to test since the NDA announced its candidate.

Counting of votes begins for Sangrur LS bypoll, main contest between AAP, SAD(Mann)

CHANDIGARH: Counting of votes for the bypoll of the Sangrur parliamentary constituency in the AAP-ruled Punjab began on Sunday.The main fight is between Aam Aadmi Party and Shiromani Akali Dal(Mann).

Age, education key factors in Aus general election result: Survey

CANBERRA: Younger and educated voters were instrumental in the Labor Party's victory in Australia's May 21 general election, a new survey revealed on Monday.

MVA, BJP pray for 'political miracles', 225 MLAs vote in MLC polls

MUMBAI: Voting for the biennial elections to 10 seats of Maharashtra Legislative Council continued with both the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi and Opposition Bharatiya Janta Party praying for a 'political miracle' for the one crucial seat on which there's a main contest among 11 candidates, here on Monday.

Administration ensuring foolproof arrangements to hold smooth and transparent polling in Sangrur

SANGRUR: Returning Officer, Parliamentary Constituency-12 Sangrur Mr. Jitendra Jorwal, on Sunday, said that the constituency is all set for polls as all arrangements were being ensured to hold free, fair and peaceful by-elections. The RO informed that total State machinery of all nine assembly constituencies falling under PC- Sangrur is working round the clock to ensure peaceful, free and fair elections. He said that as many as 15,69,240 electorates including 8,30,056 Male, 7,39,140 Female and 44 Transgenders. There are 16 candidates— 13 Male and 3 Women, in fray for the by-election, he added.

Administration committed to hold transparent and fair by-elections: Returning Officer

SANGRUR: Returning Officer-cum-Deputy Commissioner Sangrur Mr. Jitendra Jorwal said that the district administration was fully committed to conduct the by-election of Sangrur Lok Sabha constituency in a transparent and fair manner.

Dalbir Goldy named Congress candidate for Sangrur Lok Sabha bye-election

CHANDIGARH: Congress party today announced the name of Dalbir Goldy former MLA as its candidate from Sangrur Lok Sabha bye-election to be held on June 23.

SAD announced Biba Kamaldeep Kaur Rajoana as the joint candidate of the SAD, BSP and panthic organizations

AMRITSAR: The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) today announced Biba Kamaldeep Kaur Rajoana as the joint candidate of the SAD, Bahujan Samaj Party and all panthic organizations for the Sangrur parliamentary bypoll.

RMS Chhina Appointed BJP’s In charge Amritsar Lok Sabha

AMRITSAR: Senior BJP leader Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina was today appointed as in charge of Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency to oversee party’s political activities in the parliamentary segment. His announcement was made during Union Home Minister Amit Shah’s visit to Chandigarh.

AAP announces Gurmel Singh party candidate for Sangrur Lok Sabha bye-election

CHANDIGARH: Aam Aaadmi Party (AAP) has named Sarpanch Gurmel Singh party candidate for Sangrur Lok Sabha bye-election to be held on June 23. The result will be declared on June 26.

ECI announces schedule for two Rajya Sabha seats of Punjab

CHANDIGARH: With the term of two members of the Rajya Sabha elected from the State of Punjab is due to expire in July 2022, Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced schedule for biennial Elections to the Council of States from the State of Punjab.