Sunday, October 24, 2021


 Saint Lucia Kings storm into final of Hero CPL

BALBIR SINGH | September 15, 2021 08:03 AM

Basseterre, St Kitts & Nevis: A high-scoring thriller saw Saint Lucia Kings reach the final of the 2021 Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and eliminate defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders 21 runs at Warner Park.

The Saint Lucia Kings won the toss and chose to bat. Mark Deyal got the side off to a flying start and they maintained a high intensity throughout the innings, as Tim David and David Wiese combined to cause carnage in the latter overs, taking the side to a mammoth 205/4 after their 20 overs.

Trinbago Knight Riders got off to a fast start in response but slowly unravelled amidst a growing run rate, as David Wiese took his second five wicket haul of this year’s Hero CPL to end their title defence as they finished on 184 all out .

Saint Lucia Kings had got off to a troublesome start as Rahkeem Cornwall was caught out in the first over. Yet Deyal would come in and play with an attacking intent that saw him launch eleven boundaries and reach his highest ever T20 score, 78 off just 44 balls. Roston Chase would aid the side with a valuable knock, before David and Wiese came in and formed a destructive partnership: 75 runs coming off the last 34 balls. Despite the high score, Sunil Narine was excellent with the ball for the Trinbago Knight Riders, conceding a paltry twelve runs from his four overs.

Trinbago Knight Riders responded with a strong start, scoring 66 runs in the Powerplay for just the loss of one wicket, as Narine and Colin Munro kept the required run rate within reach. However, Wiese starred with the ball as he took both of their wickets, adding pressure to the chase. Despite quick-fire cameos from Darren Bravo and captain Kieron Pollard, it was not enough as the champions faltered under disciplined bowling from Alzarri Joseph and Wahab Riaz. Wiese then capped off a superb game by taking late wickets to reach his five wicket haul.

Saint Lucia Kings reached their second successive Hero CPL final with the win and the result means there will be a new champion this year.

Brief scores: Saint Lucia Kings 205/4 (Mark Deyal 78, Roston Chase 36, Tim David 38 not out, David Wiese 34 not out, Sunil Narine 1/12, Hosein 1/27) beat Trinbago Knight Riders 184 all out (Sunil Narine 30, Ramdin 29 ; Colin Munro 28, Denesh Ramadin 29, Darren Bravo 25, Kieron Pollard 26, Tim Seifert 10, David Wiese 5/39, Keemo Paul 2/21, Wahab Riaz 2/36, Alzarri Joseph1/24) by 21 runs.

Have something to say? Post your comment