Monday, June 24, 2024


Showing zero tolerance towards gangsters, Bhagwant Mann directs AGFT to function effectively without any fear and prejudice

IANS | April 08, 2022 04:28 PM

CHANDIGARH: Showing zero tolerance towards gangsterism, the Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann on Friday asked the Anti Gangster Task Force (AGTF) to stamp out gangsters from the state in order to repose people’s full faith and confidence in the law and order machinery.

While chairing a meeting with the newly constituted AGTF team led by DGP VK Bhawra at CMR this afternoon, Bhagwant Mann reiterated his government’s firm commitment to wipe out the menace of gangsterism from the state that is a slur on the peaceful state like Punjab adding he said AGTF would be absolutely empowered with requisite manpower, advanced technology, vehicles and adequate funds.

The Chief Minister said, “The responsibility of providing security to three crore people in Punjab lies with him and he will leave no stone unturned to boost their morale on this count”. Bhagwant Mann asked the officers to discharge their duties with utmost sincerity, honesty and professional commitment without any fear or prejudice. He assured the officers of AGTF team of all possible help to perform their duties efficaciously as they are fully competent to face this gigantic challenge to vanish gangsters from the state.

He also authorized the AGTF to utilize the services of State Special Operation Cells (SSOCs) at Mohali, Amritsar and Fazilka in addition to the services offered by the 361 police stations across the state.

He also asked the AGTF Chief to formulate Standing Order (SO) for its effective functioning demarcating its role, functions and responsibilities within a week. Likewise, Bhagwant Mann also emphasized the need to intensify efforts for interstate coordination for ensuring coordinated and effective action to curb the terror unleashed by the gangsters with heavy hand.

Prominent amongst others who attended the meeting included Additional Chief Secretary to CM A. Venu Prasad, Principal Secretary Anurag Verma, DGP VK Bhawra, ADGP AGTF Promod Ban, AIG AGTF Gurmeet Singh Chauhan, DIG AGTF Gurpreet Singh Bhullar and DSP AGTF Bikramjit Singh Brar.

Have something to say? Post your comment