Tuesday, May 18, 2021

Elections 2021

Telangana bypoll: Six file papers on first day of nominations

IANS | October 10, 2020 11:03 AM

HYDERABAD:Six candidates filed their papers for the November 3 bye-elections to Telangana's Dubbak Assembly seat on Friday, the first day of nominations.
All six candidates are Independents.

Chief Electoral Officer Dr Shashank Goel had earlier in the day issued the gazette notification, setting the poll process in motion.

October 16 will be the last date for receiving nominations.

The scrutiny of nominations will take place on October 17 while October 19 will be the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

Polling will be held on November 3. Counting of votes will be taken up on November 10.

The by-election is necessitated by the the sudden death of sitting legislator Solipeta Ramalinga Reddy of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS).

The ruling party has fielded his widow Solipeta Sujatha. Opposition Congress has named Cheruku Srinivas Reddy as its candidate.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has again given ticket to Raghunandan Rao, who had finished poor third in the 2018 election.

In 2018, Ramalinga Reddy had won the seat with a margin of 62, 500 votes. Congress party's M. Nageshwar Reddy had finished second.

Have something to say? Post your comment