Friday, September 29, 2023


Power men to hold nationwide protests on August 9 - AIPEF

VINOD GUPTA | August 03, 2022 04:23 PM

CHANDIGARH: Power engineers and employees from all over the country will will hold protests at all the districts headquarters in the
country on August 9 and stop the work immediately and will lead a massive protest the very day the Electricity Amendment Bill
2022 is tabled in Parliament.

A decision in this regard was taken in the national convention convened by the National Coordination Committee of Electricity Employees and Engineers (NCCOEEE) in Delhi on Tuesday, said V K Gupta Spokesperson for All India Power Engineers Federation (AIPEF).

V K Gupta informed that MPs of many major political parties who also attended the convention termed the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2022 as anti-people and declared strong support to the agitation of electricity workers. Among them were Aam Aadmi Party MP Sanjay Singh, Telangana Rashtra Samithi’s leader Nageshwar Rao, CPM MPs E Karim, Tapan Sen, and Binoy Biswas,
Trinamool Congress MP Dola Sen and Hannan Mulla of Sanyukt Kisan Morcha

The resolution adopted in the convention states that through the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2022, the central government wanted to give an opportunity to private companies to earn profit by using the network of public sector electricity distribution companies. Since the Universal Power Supply Obligation in the amendment bill means the responsibility of providing electricity to all categories of consumers, will be of the government company only, therefore cherry picking will be there by other licenses and private companies will not give electricity to the loss-making consumers like farmers and domestic consumers.

V K Gupta said that on Tuesday Parliamentary Affairs Minister informed the parliamentary party leaders that the central government has decided that the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2022 will be introduced in the monsoon session of Parliament and will be passed. Sanjay Singh and
E Karim and other opposition leaders strongly opposed this and demanded that the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2022 should
be referred to the Parliamentary Committee on Electricity Affairs of the Parliament for detailed discussion with all the stakeholders.

The presidium for the Convention included NCCOEEE chairperson Shailendra Dubey, convenor Prashant Chowdhary, Mohan Sharma, general secretary AIFEE, RK Trivedi, and Samar Sinha. The power engineers and employees from all the states participated in the convention.

Have something to say? Post your comment