Thursday, January 20, 2022


Double delight for Rakshitha Sree in Sub Junior Ranking Badminton

BALBIR SINGH | January 09, 2022 07:24 PM

CHANDIGARH: Rakshitha Sree S. of Tamil Nadu finished her campaign with a double delight by winning the singles and doubles titles in girls under-17 category of the 1st Ashwani Gupta Memorial All India Sub Junior Ranking Badminton Tournament-2022 at Tau Devi Lal Sports Complex here today.
Rakshitha Sree S. pocketed the singles crown at the expense of Aishani Tiwari of Gujarat whom she defeated by 21-18 21-17 in 40 minutes.

Later combining with Navya Kanderi of Andhra Pradesh, Rakshitha Sree S. (TN) had to work hard to defeat a never-say-die wild card Haryana duo of Palak Arora and Unnati Hooda in the doubles final. The well-contested title clash lasted one hour and 25 minutes before Rakshitha and Navya rallied to post a thrilling) 23-25 21-11 21-19 victory.
Vansh Dev toppled top seed Devang Tomar by 21-13 21-6 in 25 minutes final between two Delhi players in the boys unde.r-15 singles.
Top seed Sanskar Saraswat of Rajasthan justified the seedding committee by annexing the boys under-17 singles title with an authoritative 21-9 21-13 verdict against third seed Numair Shaik of Andhra Pradesh in the final which lasted 30 minutes.
Top seeds Haryana pair of Mayank Rana and Palak Arora won the under-17 mixed doubles title after beating Bhargav Ram Arigela (AP) and Pragati Parida (Odhisa) 21-8 21-13 in 25 minutes.
The hosts duo of Medhavi Nagar and Baruni Parshwal beat Tanvi Reddy Andluri (TS) and Durga Isha Kandrapu (AP) in the girls under-15 doubles final by 21-15 21-19.
Naishaa Kaur Bhatoye of Maharashtra will take home the girls under-15 singles trophy as she rallied to overcome Anwesha Gowda (Delhi) by 17-21 21-14 21-16 in the final..
Results (all finals)
Boys U-15 singles: Vansh Dev (Dli) bt 1-Devang Tomar(Dli) 21-13 21-6.
Boys U-5 doubles: Bjorn Jaison and Aathish Sreenivas P.V (Kerala) bt Sanrekh Kumar Chaurasia and Kapil Salouniya (UP) 21-13 22-20
Girls U-15 singles: Naishaa Kaur Bhatoye (Mah) bt Anwesha Gowda (Delhi) 17-21 21-14 21-16.
Girls U-15 doubles: Medhavi Nagar and Baruni Parshwal (Haryana) bt Tanvi Reddy Andluri (TS) and Durga Isha Kandrapu (AP) 21-15 21-19.
Mixed doubles Under-15: Suryaksh Rawat and Aanya Bisht (UP) bt Ritom Howbora and Bhavishya Changmai (Assam) 18-21 21-19 21-19 .
Boys U-17 singles: 1-Sanskar Saraswat (Rajasthan) bt 3-Numair Shaik (AP) 21-9 21-13 30m
Boys U-15 doubles: Divyam Arora (UP) and Mayank Rana (Haryana) bt Nicholas Nathan Raj and Tushar Suveer (Karnataka) 21-14 21-17.
Girls U-17 singles: Rakshitha Sree S. (TN) bt Aishani Tiwari (Gujarat) 21-18 21-17.
Girls U-17 doubles: Navya Kanderi (AP) and Rakshitha Sree S. (TN) bt Palak Arora and Unnati Hooda (Haryana) 23-25 21-11 21-19.
U-17 Mixed doubles: 1-Mayank Rana and Palak Arora (Haryana) Bhargav Ram Arigela (AP) and Pragati Parida (Odisha) 21-8 21-13.

Have something to say? Post your comment