Thursday, January 20, 2022


Devang Tomar faces Vansh Dev in boys U-15 final

BALBIR SINGH | January 08, 2022 07:47 PM

CHANDIGARH:It will be an all-Delhi affairs in the boys under-15 singles final as top seed Devang Tomar clashes with qualifier Vansh Dev in the final of the 1st Ashwani Gupta Memorial All India Sub Junior Ranking Badminton Tournament-2022 at Tau Devi Lal Sports Complex on Sunday.
In the semi-final matches played on Saturday, . the finalists found it smooth sailing. Devang Tomar and Vansh Dev took almost the same time of 26 minutes each to eliminate the challenge of their respective opponents. Devang Tomar defeated Suryaksh of Uttarakhand by 21-8 21-14 and Vansh Dev registered victory against Prateek Koundilya of Karnataka 21-10 21-17 .
However, they had faced tough oppositions in the quarter-final matches. Top seed Devang Tomar rallied to oust tough opponent Shaurya Agarwal of Uttrakhand by 13-21 21-10 21-10 in 40 minutes.
Vansh Dev had to use all his resources to stop Anish Danei Thoppani of Andhra Pradesh. 15-21 26-24 21-16 in a 60-minute duration.,
ANWESHA-NAISHAA FINAL: Anwesha Gowda of Delhi and Naishaa Kaur Bhatoye of Maharashtra marched into the girls under-15 final. Both finalists lost their respective first sets before reorganising their games. After the initial setback Anwesha Gowda bounced into the game with authority as she won by 19-21 21-13 21-13 in 41 minutes in the first semi-final.
In the second semi-final Naishaa Kaur Bhatoye trailed by a set. However she maintained her cool to terminate spirited Medhavi Nagar of Haryana 18-21 21-12 21-16 in one hour.
Results: Boys U-15 (Q-finals): Devang Tomar [1] bt Shaurya Agarwal 13-21 21-10 21-10, Suryaksh Rawat bt Nidhish More 21-12 21-13, Prateek Koundilya bt Showrya Kiran J. 21-19 21-23 21-17, Vansh Dev bt Anish Danei Thoppani 15-21 26-24 21-16.
Boys U-15 (s-finals): Devang Tomar ((Dli) [1] bt Suryaksh (Uttarakhand) 21-8 21-14, Vansh Dev (Dli) bt Prateek Koundilya (Karnataka) 21-10 21-17.
Girls U-15 (q-finals): Anwesha Gowda bt Tanvi Reddy Andluri 25-23 21-16, Aparna Sajeev P. bt Vennala K. 21-14 21-16, Medhavi Nagar bt Durga Isha Kandrapu 21-15 21-13, Naishaa Kaur Bhatoye bt Evanna Tyagi 21-9 21-6.
Girls U-15 (s-finals): Anwesha Gowda (Delhi) bt Aparna Sajeev P. (Kerala) 19-21 21-13 21-13, Naishaa Kaur Bhatoye (Maharashtra) bt Medhavi Nagar (Haryana) 18-21 21-12 21-16.

Have something to say? Post your comment