Thursday, December 07, 2023


District Election Officer ordered to register an FIR against two for Videography while casting vote

ARVIND SHARMA | November 18, 2022 11:04 PM

DHARAMSALA: District Election Officer (Deputy Commissioner) Dr. Nipun Jindal said that on the day of polling for the assembly elections, two cases of violation of Election Commission rules were noticed at polling stations Sanot and Sakri in Dehra assembly constituency of Kangra district. These cases were of 2 unknown voters making video clips of casting their vote and sharing it on social media.

Dr Jindal Said , ” Election Officer (SDM) Dehra informed me after investigation that all the guidelines of the Election Commission were fully followed at both the said polling stations. Videography was done in Sanot and web casting in Sakri. Voters were repeatedly instructed by security personnel not to carry mobile phones inside. But it is clear from the video clip that in these cases, 2 voters deliberately took their mobile inside and they violated the rules. Voters could not be identified. DSP Dehra has been asked to take action by registering an FIR against two unknown persons.”

Dr. Nipun Jindal said that after the voting process for the assembly elections in the district on November 12, EVM machines have been kept in the strong rooms at the respective sub-divisional headquarters. As per the guidelines of the Election Commission, an impenetrable security cordon has been made regarding the security of EVMs. Central para military forces and police personnel are deployed on 24x7 strong guard of the strong room. At the same time, 24-hour monitoring is also being done with CCTV cameras.

The fate of 91 candidates for 15 assembly seats in Kangra district is currently locked in the ballot boxes. 1627 polling stations were set up in the district for voting on 12 of this month, where out of 13, 12, 774 voters of the district, 9, 40, 976 took part in the polling on Saturday, of which 4, 96, 965 were female and 4, 44, 008 were male. Apart from this, 3 voters of third gender (1 in Nurpur, 1 in Dharamshala and 1 in Baijnath assembly constituencies) exercised their franchise.

The counting of the votes in all 68 seats of the state assembly shall be done on 8 th December.

Have something to say? Post your comment