Wednesday, May 29, 2024


Campaign to link voter ID cards with Aadhaar started

ASHOK KAURA | August 01, 2022 05:48 PM

KAPURTHALA:Deputy Commissioner cum District Election Officer Vishesh Sarangal has said that the Election Commission of India has started a campaign to link voter cards with Aadhaar from August 1 with a purpose to verify the voters registered in the voter list.

In this regard, Additional Deputy Commissioner (G) Ajay Arora held a meeting with the administrative officers, election staff and representatives of political parties.

He informed that under the campaign, the voter lists would be rectified by identifying duplicate votes in more than one constituency or in more than one place in a single constituency so that the poll percentage may be increased.

He said that the Election Commission of India has set a target of 100% successful completion of this campaign by March 31, 2023.

He said that according to the instructions/program issued by the commission, the registered voters in the current voter list can fill Form-6B and submit it manually to the concerned RO/BLO to link the voter card with the Aadhaar card will be processed by BLO.

He said that apart from this, voters can link Aadhaar card with their card through OTP (One Time Password) sent to the registered mobile number using the online portal or mobile app.

District Election Officer also clarified that the sharing of Aadhaar card information is voluntary based . He said that if a voter does not have an Aadhaar card, he/she can submit one of the 11 documents listed in Form No. 6B by self-verification.

It is to be noted that a special camp on September 4 (Sunday) from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM is scheduled by the BLOs at polling stations in the district to collect Aadhaar card information from the voters registered in the voter list.

He appealed to the representatives of the political parties to support the district administration to successfully carry out the campaign launched by the Election Commission of India to link the voter card with the Aadhaar card.

It may be mentioned that in the four assembly constituencies of the district and the total number of voters as on 31 July 2022 is 629405, including 327402 males, 299826 females and 31 voters of the third gender.

On this occasion, SDM Kapurthala Mr. Hardeep Singh, representative of AAP district president Lalit saklani , BJP district president Rajesh Pasi, Shiromani Akali Dal's Ranjit Singh and Ajay Sharma, BSP's Rakesh Kumar were present .

Have something to say? Post your comment