Saturday, October 23, 2021

Campus Buzz

KCGC, KCGAA Congratulate Trudeau, Jagmeet for Impressive Win in Canada

PUNJAB NEWS EXPRESS | September 23, 2021 05:37 PM

AMRITSAR:The historic Khalsa College Governing Council (KCGC) today congratulated Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau for the consecutive third impressive win in the Canadian parliamentary elections. The KCGC and the Khalsa College Global Alumni Association (KCGAA) sent best wishes to Trudeau and also applauded Jagmeet Singh-led New Democratic Party (NDP) which also won 27 seats and would play a pivotal role in the formation of the government.

KCGC honourary secretary Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina said Justine Trudeau is seen as a `friend of the Sikhs’ as he had given lots of respect to vibrant minority community on Canadian soil and they were happy that he is retaining power for another term as the Liberals wrest control in Canadian House of Commons, even though they are short of majority.

He said the whole Sikh community is particular and Punjabis and Indian in general were happy over the results and he hoped that under Trudeau and his Cabinet would see another chapter of development and progress in Canada. ``It was a hard fight but Trudeau emerged as a winner. The Sikh community is happy and we are happy”, said Chhina representing Sikhs’ premier most Khalsa College educational institutions.

Similarly KCGAA Convenor Dr.Davinder Singh Chhina also extended congratulations to Trudeau and Jagmeet as he expressed delight that Khalsa College alumni Sukh Dhaliwal retained his Surry-Newton parliamentary constituency for record fifth time. "Sukh is proud Alumni of Khalsa College as he did his pre-engineering from here in 1980. He visited the College last time in 2018 with a high level Canadian delegation, said Davinder Chhina.

He also congratulated MPs Randeep Singh Sarai and Sonia Sidhu who father was Khalsa College Alumni, former Deputy Speaker Kevin Lamoureux for their emphatic win in the polls. KCGAA patron Mukhwinder Singh Chhina, Kartar Singh, Bhupinder Singh Holland, Harpreet Singh Bhatti, DS Rataul also expressed delight over the victory.

Have something to say? Post your comment