Thursday, July 16, 2020


World Kabaddi Cup dedicated to 550th Prakash Purb of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji to be held from 1st December : Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi

November 13, 2019 04:18 PM

CHANDIGARH:9 teams to participate
Inauguration at Sultanpur Lodhi, Closing at Dera Baba Nanak
The Sports and Youth Services Minister Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi has announced the dates for the World Kabaddi Cup which would be dedicated to the 550th Prakash Purb of Sahib Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji this year.
In a high level meeting today at the Punjab Bhawan here with the Deputy Commissioners of all the Districts besides the top officers of the Sports Department, the minister said that the sporting event would be held from the 1st to 10th December, 2019. The minister directed the officers to gear up for making the event a memorable one and said that no laxity in this regard would be tolerated.
Divulging more, the minister said that the inauguration would be held on the 1st December at Guru Nanak Stadium Sultanpur Lodhi and four matches would be held that day. The closing ceremony would be held at the Shaheed Bhagat Singh Sports Stadium in Dera Baba Nanak and apart from the final match, 3rd and 4th position matches would also be played on this day. Besides this, 2 matches each would be played at Guru Nanak stadium Amritsar, Shaheed Bhagat Singh stadium Ferozepur, Sports Stadium Bathinda, Sports Stadium YPS Patiala. The Semifinals would be held at Charanganga sports stadium Sri Anandpur Sahib.
Rana Sodhi further added that 9 teams would be participating in the tournament. These would be India, USA, Australia, England, Sri Lanka, Kenya, New Zealand, Pakistan and Canada. Barring, Pakistan and Canada, all teams have got NOC from the Union Government. The NOC with regard to these 2 countries is still awaited. Emphasizing the appropriate decoration of the stadiums, Rana Sodhi directed that the Backdrops, Hoardings and Banners be suitably displayed.
Among other dignitaries present on the occasion included the Additional Chief Secretary Sports Mr. Sanjay Kumar, Director Sports Mr. Sanjay Popli, Deputy Commissioner Kapurthala Mr. DPS Kharbanda, Deputy Commissioner Amritsar Mr. Shivdular Singh Dhillon, Deputy Commissioner Bathinda Mr. B. Srinivasan, Deputy Commissioner Patiala Mr. Kumar Amit, Deputy Commissioner Ropar Mr. Sumit Jarangal, Deputy Commissioner Gurdaspur Mr. Vipul Ujjwal, Deputy Commissioner Ferozepur Mr. Chander Gaind, President Punjab Kabaddi Association Mr. Sikandar Singh Maluka and Vice President Mr. Tejinder Singh Middhukhera.

Have something to say? Post your comment