Saturday, August 08, 2020


NGT monitoring committee directs officials to give timeline report on solid waste management project and sewarage treatment plants

December 05, 2019 11:27 AM

JALANDHAR:A monitoring committee of National Green Tribunal (NGT) led by Justice (Retired) Jasbir Singh, chairman along with its members SC Aggarwal, Sant Balbir Singh Seechewal and Babu Ram on Wednesday directed the officials of district administration and Municipal Corporation Jalandhar (MCJ) to give the timeline report on the solid waste management project, Sewage Treatment Plants and others works, in the district.
The Committee held a meeting with the top officials of the district administration and Municipal Corporation Jalandhar (MCJ) including Deputy Commissioner Varinder Kumar Sharma, Mayor Jagdish Raj Raja, Municipal Corporation Commissioner Diperva Lakra and heads of other key departments PPCB, irrigation, panchayat and rural development, soil conservation, industry and others.
The Chairman Justice (Retired) Jasbir Singh said that the officials will have to mention the timeline of each project from the preparation of DPR, tendering, date of execution and completion in the reports and the committee will also check the progress of the projects regularly by visiting the sites.
The Committee said that that the entire projects need to be completed in a time-bound manner and asked the officials to give ‘top priority’ to the environment sp that we can give a safe future to coming generations.
Further, the committee told that besides plugging all the discharge outlets from where the untreated water was pumped into the drains, the MC must also ensure the speedy execution of the project bioremediation of garbage dump site in Waryana.
Likewise, the committee also exhorted the people to start segregation of waste at the homes to help the MC in eliminating the garbage dumping points in the city.
In the meeting, the officials also gave PowerPoint presentation of the projects being carried out to manage the solid waste management, bio-medical waste management and STPs.
On the occasion, Additional Deputy Commissioner (D) Kulwant Singh, MC Joint Commissioner  Harcharan Singh,   PPCB Chief Environmental Engineer GS Majithia, DDPO  Iqbalpreet Singh and others were present.


Have something to say? Post your comment