Notice Board

Punjab Education Minister felicitates Teachers on Eve of Teachers' Day

September 06, 2016 11:02 AM

Punjab News Express
SAS NAGAR : The Education Minister, Punjab, Dr. Daljit Singh Cheema honoured 2 academicians with Lifetime Achievement Award, 34 teachers with State Award, 33 teachers/education Officers/employees with commendation letters.

The state level function to mark the ‘Teachers Day’ held today at CGC Landran was dedicated to the 50th anniversary of Punjabi Suba. On the occasion, Sister Mirabel and Principal Swaran Singh were honoured with ‘Lifetime Achievement’ awards which were awarded for the first time. They were also presented with an amount of Rs. 1 lakh each, a medal, a shawl and a commendation certificate.

The state awardees were presented with the increased amount of Rs. 25,000 each which earlier stood at Rs. 10,000. The state awardee 34 teachers were also honoured with a medal, shawl and a commendation certificate. These teachers would also get an extension in service for the period of one year. Besides this, another 33 Teachers/Education Officers/Employees were awarded a shawl and a commendation certificate.
The State level function commenced with Saraswati Vandana. After this, Chief Guest Dr. Daljit Singh Cheema paid homage to Former Presidents Dr. S. Radhakrishnan.

The function reached its pinnacle when before the presentation ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award, a documentary showcased the yeoman’s contribution to the field of education rendered by the 2 awardees Sister Mirabel and Principal Swaran Singh. The whole hall resonated with a thunderous applause for quite a few minutes. The awardees were then seated on the dais where they were felicitated by Education Minister Dr. Cheema.

Earlier, before beginning the award ceremony Dr. Daljit Singh Cheema while addressing the teachers said that the ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award has been started for the first time to honour those who have devoted their entire life spans to serve the cause of education.

Dr. Cheema also congratulated the teaching community on behalf of Chief Minister S. Parkash Singh Badal and Deputy Chief Minister S. Sukhbir Singh Badal and also remembered the former President of India Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan whose birthday every year is celebrated as the ‘Teachers Day’. He also exhorted the teaching community to take pledge for making Punjab No. 1 in academic sphere.

He said that after infrastructure, now the target is to make Punjab topmost state academically. Before this, Principal Secretary Mr. G.Vajralingam and Director General School Education Mr. Pradeep Agarwal also stressed on the value of education and teachers. Mr. Pradeep Agarwal also read out the messages of the Prime Minister of the country.

On this occasion, the Chairman of C.G.C. Landran Mr. Satnam Singh Sandhu addressed the gathering and welcomed Dr. Cheema and all the other guests. DPI (Secondary Education) Mr. Balbir Singh Dhol presented the vote of thanks. During the occasion, DPI (Elementary Education) Mrs. Pankaj Sharma and Director Administration Mrs. Gurpreet Kaur Dhaliwal read out the commendation letters of the teachers. The programme was anchored by Lecturer Rupinder Kaur Grewal.
On the occasion, students of Government Senior Secondary School Nurpur Bedi presented qawali, students of Bhutto school and Ropar school girls showcased their talent in Bhangra with choreography by CGC Landran students acting as the icing on the cake. The function culminated with national anthem by NCC cadet of CGC Landran.

Life Time Achievement Awardees (2):
Sister Mirabell (98 years) and Principal Swaran Singh (72)
List of State Awardees in different categories (34):
Principals (2): Mr Mukesh Chander Joshi and Mrs Suresh Kumar.
Head Masters (2): Mr Subhinderjit Singh and Mr Joga Singh.
Lecturer (7): Mr Sarabjit Singh, Mr Javtinder Kaur,Mrs Alka Rani,Mrs Karamjit Kaur, Mrs Satinder Kaur,Mrs Gurnam Kaur and Mr Ranjit Singh.
Master/Mistress (14): Mr Lakhvinder Singh, Mrs Davinder Kaur,Mr Ravinder Kumar,, Mrs Shukra Begam,Mrs Neeraj Saini,Mr Kirandeep Siongh,Mr Piara Singh,, Mr Kanwalpreet Singh,Mr Jashpal Singh,Mr Harmander Singh,Mr Jashwant Singh,Mr Shivsharan,, Mr Jagdish Singh and Mr Dharminder Singh.
E.T.T. Cadre (9): Mr Shinderpal Singh,Mr Kulwinder Singh,Mr Sulakhan Singh, Mr Naresh Kumar,Mr Gurmej Singh(H.T),Mr Ajmer Singh,Mrs Anita, Mr Amarjit Singh and Mr Surinder Singh & Mrs Renu Singla (joint).
Appreciation Letters (26):
Mr Bhupinder Singh, Mr Tejinder Kumar, Mrs Anju Goyal, Mr Bhupinder Singh, Mrs Veena Bhalla, Mrs Sunita Sharma, Mr B.P.S.Thakur,, Mr Suresh Kumar, Mr Charanjit Singh, Mr Jagjit Singh,Mr Surinder Mohan, Mr Ghuka Singh, Mrs Gurwant Singh,Mr Makhan Singh, Mrs Kamaljit Singh, Mr Jashpal Singh,Mr Jaswinder Pal Singh, Mr Jashvinder Pal ,Mr Deepak Kumar Vashist, , Mrs Anju Bala, Mr Sunil Behl, Mr Gurmeet Singh,Mr Labh Singh,Mr Rakesh Sharma, Mr Rashpal Singh, Mr Ravinder Singh, Mrs Parvinder Kaur.
Appreciation Letters for PES Cadre officers/Employees (7):
Dr Maninder Sarkaria, Depyut SPD, Mrs Manjit Kaur, Director Academic, PSEB, Mrs Nalini Sharma, OSD Scholarship, Mr Pargat Singh, Deputy DEO (EE) Ferozepur, Mrs Satinderjit Kaur, Deputy Director, Mr Rajvir Singh Deputy Manager, MIS and Mrs Surinderpal Sharma Retd Class IV Employee (GHS Kabulpur, Patiala)

Have something to say? Post your comment