Election 2019

Yogi to start campaign in Western UP today with 3 rallies

LUCKNOW:Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath kickstart BJP's election campaign in western Uttar Pradesh with three rallies on Friday.

Why Bharat Ratna to Savarkar, why not to Godse, asks Congress

NEW DELHI:The Congress on Thursday slammed the BJP for demanding a Bharat Ratna for its ideologue Vinayak Damodar Savarkar in its manifesto for the Maharashtra Assembly polls.

BJP leader wants no party symbols on EVMs, cites 'dictatorship' by bosses

NEW DELHI:Electoral symbols on EVM machines may be a thing of the past if the Election Commission accepts BJP leader Ashwini Upadhyay recommendations.

KCR's election rally in Huzurnagar cancelled

HYDERABAD:Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao's election rally in Huzurnagar Assembly constituency was cancelled on Thursday due to rains, officials said.

Jindal varsity launches 3-year BA (Hons) programme in law

SONIPAT:In a first, the O.P. Jindal Global University (JGU) launched here on Thursday a three-year B.A. (honours) programme in legal studies which is interdisciplinary in nature with a focus on the social, economic and political context of law in society.

Kerala bypolls outcome could be a harbinger of things

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM:Even though the outcome of the five Kerala assembly by-polls is not going to make any difference to the Pinarayi Vijayan-led Left government, as it has at present 91 seats in the 140-member Kerala Assembly, this could well be the harbinger of the upcoming polls - local body - next year and the 2021 assembly polls.

Election Commission team to visit Jharkhand from Thursday

RANCHI:An Election Commission of India (ECI) team will arrive in Ranchi on Thursday for a two-day visit to the Jharkhand capital to take stock of preparations for holding assembly elections, an official said on Wednesday.

Sena woos women voters in Maha polls

MUMBAI:As the battle for a bigger chunk of the electoral pie gets bitter, the ruling ally Shiv Sena is quietly wooing the women voters in the state to help catapult it to victory in maximum number of seats.

Manmohan to meet press and eminent personalities in Mumbai

NEW DELHI:In the run up to Maharashtra elections, the Congress is pitching high on slowdown in Indian economy. The party has decided to field former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh on October 17 to lend a credible voice against the government's policies on the economic issues.

Selja, Hooda working together to revive Cong in Haryana

NEW DELHI:Former Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda and Kumari Selja, two senior Congress leaders of the state, used to share a frosty political relationship but now both seem to have sunk their differences to strive together to wrest power from the BJP in the October 21 Assembly polls.

Shiv Sena snubbed as Narayan Rane's MSP merges with BJP

SINDHUDURG(Maharashtra):In a snub to the Shiv Sena, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis presided over the Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) long-awaited 'merger' with former Chief Minister Narayan Rane's Maharashtra Swabhiman Party (MSP) here on Tuesday.

Poll body bans exit polls during Assembly elections, bypolls

NEW DELHI:The Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday reiterated a complete ban on exit polls during the upcoming elections.

Cong reaches out to agitating student leaders in UP

LUCKNOW:The Congress in Uttar Pradesh is trying to get involved with the state's student politics in order to find a foothold among the youth.

Haryana polls: 117 candidates have criminal cases

NEW DELHI: Of 1,138 candidates who are contesting the Haryana Assembly election, 117 or 10 per cent have declared criminal cases against themselves, while 70 have declared serious criminal cases against them, according to the Haryana Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR).

Trump campaign disavows parody media massacre video

WASHINGTON: Donald Trump's 2020 re-election campaign has disavowed a parody video showing the US President massacring media outlets and political rivals, it was reported on Monday.

Govt working on reform in spectrum pricing mechanism

NEW DELHI:Union Telecom Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad on Monday said that the government is working on reforms in the spectrum pricing mechanism.

Congress smells rat in Jolly case surfacing during bypoll

THIRUVANTHAPURAM:The Congress party in Kerala on Saturday expressed doubts in the manner in which the shocking family murder trail involving 47-year old Jolly which is going on now, is to divert the real issues of poor governance, as five crucial assembly by-elections is to take place on October 21.

Rahul to kick-off poll campaign from Haryana on Oct 14

NEW DELHI:Congress leader Rahul Gandhi will kick-off the party's first poll campaign from Haryana's Nuh district on October 14.

Ex-AAP leader Alka Lamba joins Congress

NEW DELHI:After a month of quitting the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), former Chandni Chowk MLA Alka Lamba on Saturday joined the Congress in the presence of state in-charge, P.C. Chacko.

Maha polls: Congress appears to be leaderless

NEW DELHI:The Congress is feeling the heat of carpet bombing from the incumbent BJP-Shiv Sena government during the ongoing campaign in poll-bound Maharashtra.


Opinion Poll