Saturday, April 20, 2024


Dr. Inderbir Singh Nijjar re-elected president of Chief Khalsa Diwan

AMRIK SINGH | February 18, 2024 10:35 PM

AMRITSAR: Five out of six members of the team of President Dr. Inderbir Singh Nijjar won while one member of the opposition party Mr. Surinderjit Singh's team managed to win in the election of officers of the Chief Khalsa Diwan.

Dr. Nijjar who is AAP MLA has re-elected the president of the Chief Khalsa Diwan for the second time. Dr. Nijjar got 247 votes while his opponent Surinderjit Singh Pal got only 150 votes.

Out of the total 491 votes of the Diwan, 399 votes were polled. Voting was held this morning under tight security arrangements till 5 pm in which the Chief Khalsa Diwan voted for the office-bearers. Identity cards were also issued to members and employees for this election.

Election Officer Engineer Jaspal Singh, Advocate Inderjit Singh Adi, Prof. Sukhbir Singh and Mahinder Singh said that the total number of members of the Diwan is 491, out of which 250 members belong to Amritsar district while the remaining 241 members were from abroad whose votes were polled.

Along with the present President Dr. Inderbir Singh Nijjar, Vice Presidents Santokh Singh Sethi and Jagjit Singh, Local President Kuljit Singh Sahni, Honorary Secretary Savinder Singh Kathunangal and Ramnik Singh of Team Surinderjit Singh were elected.

Talking to media persons, Dr. Nijjar said that they will make special efforts to raise the standard of education.
He said that the Diwan does not belong to any particular political party but belongs to the entire Khalsa Panth, so he will take every member along.

Have something to say? Post your comment