Saturday, January 22, 2022


Complete ban on rallies, road shows etc. till 15th January - District Electoral Officer

AMRIK SINGH | January 09, 2022 09:01 PM

AMRITSAR: Additional District Electoral Officer Mrs. Ruhi Dugg held a meeting with various political parties regarding the election code of conduct and apprised them of the restrictions imposed by the commission during the election code of conduct.

Meanwhile District Electoral Officer Mr. Gurpreet Singh Khaira also attended the online meeting and sought the cooperation of all parties for holding the elections in accordance with the code of conduct.

He said that in this state of Punjab during the election process the adherence to the rules would be strictly followed and no slackness would be tolerated.
Mr. Khaira said that as per the orders of Election Commission of India, by 15th January 2022, any candidate, political party and any election related election rally, road show, foot yatra, bicycle / vehicle yatra, evacuation and corner meeting and assembly should be held. Not allowed and can be preached door to door with only 5 people.

He said that campaigning of any kind from 8 am to 8 pm has been banned by the commission till further orders. He said that the work of voting in the assembly seats was done by EVMs .

Apart from this, Suwidha app, CVigal, PWD app and Voter Helpline app have been launched to conduct the election in a transparent manner.

Complaints registered through C-Whistle app will be resolved within 100 minutes. He said that many teams like Surveillance Teams, Flying Squad, etc. would be working for conducting fearless and peaceful elections and a large number of security forces would also be deployed.

On this occasion Mrs. Ruhi Dugg informed that teams have been deployed to monitor the expenses of all the candidates day and night to monitor the expenses of all the candidates, so that all the candidates should spend only what is approved by the Election Commission.

On this occasion Hargurinder Pal Singh Gill of Congress Rural, N.C. Deepak Bhatia from P, Satpal Dogra from BJP, Hardial Singh from BJP Rural, Tara Chand Bhagat from Bahujan Samaj Party, Amarjit Singh from CPI, Vijay Kumar from CPI Rural Apart from Mr. Gurpartap Singh Tikka from SAD, Mr. Gurjit Singh Sekho from Aam Aadmi Party and leaders of various political parties were also present.

Have something to say? Post your comment