Thursday, October 22, 2020


Rajiv Sharma elected RFI joint secretary; Raj Laxmi re-elected president

December 10, 2019 04:59 PM

CHANDIGARH: Mrs Raj Laxmi Singh Deo defeated  Lt General Harpal Singh and Girish J Phadnis in a three-way consted to be re-elected president for a four-year term (till 2024) of the Rowing Federtion of India held recently in Hyderabad. Raj Laxmi has been elected for the third consecutive term. Raj Laxmi received 30 votes and  Lt Gen Harpal got 19 votes. Girish finished the contest by garnering just four votes.

M Sriram Venkataraman of Tamil Nadu Amateur Rowing Association defeated Amarjyoti Singh Deo by 34-19 votes. Nababuddin Ahmed from the Assam Boat Racing and Rowing Association has been chosen as treasurer.

Former Chandigarh Sports Department coach and RFI national umpire and secretary of Chandigarh Rowing Association Advocate Rajiv Sharma has been elected joint secretary. Krishna Kumar Singh is another joint secretary of the RFI.

Suddhir Kumar Sharma, Rajpal Singh, Sreekumar Kururp and Salam Shyam Keshor Singh are the four vice-presidents.   Suravi Mitra, Souvik Ghosh, national coach Ismail Baig, G Bhaskar and SB Manjunatha are the executive committee memebers.
Chandigarh Rowing Association President Dr Anmol Rattan Sidhu, who himself was in Hyderabad for the elections, congratulated the newly elected RFI officials.

Meanwhuile, Chandigarh team of  Men and Women Coxless pair clinched silver medals in the Senior National Rowing 2 km race with a timing of 7:11:05 and in 500 meters sprint clocking timing of 1:47:59  in Hyderabad.

Have something to say? Post your comment