Friday, October 23, 2020


Mandeep to lead punjab ranji trophy team

December 04, 2019 10:54 AM

CHANDIGARH:The Senior Selection Committee of Punjab Cricket Association, which met under the chairmanship of Mr. Arun Sharma at I.S. Bindra Stadium PCA Mohali today, appointed Mandeep Singh as captain of the Punjab Ranji Trophy team. The meeting was convened by Mr. Puneet Bali, Honorary Secretary PCA.
The other members of the selection panel were Balbir Singh Patiala, Chandan Madan, Amritsar, Love Ablish Ludhiana. Honorary Jt. Secretary Mr. Surjit Rai and Cricket Manager Munish Bali were also in attendance.
The selectors announced the names of 16 players for the first two matches.  Punjab are placed in Group Elite – A alongwith Team Rajasthan, Hyderabad, Vidarbha, Delhi , Kerala , Gujarat , Andhra Pradesh and Bengal.  Punjab open their Ranji Trophy campaign with the match against Rajasthan from  December 9 at Jaipur followed by their second game against Hyderabad to be played from December 17 to 20 at Dhruv Pandove Stadium in Patiala.  The Punjab squad will leave for Jaipur on December 6.
The team is a mix of youth and experience with skipper Mandeep singh, Gurkeerat Singh Mann Baltej Singh Dhanda and Siddharth Kaul providing the experience while Shubman Gill, Sanvir Singh, Anmolpreet Singh, Mayank Markande and Akul Partap Pandove providing the flavour of youth.
Punjab team: Shubman Gill, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Siddharth Kaul,   Maninder Singh,   Rohan Marwaha, Sharad Lumba, Ashwani Kumar, Vinay Choudhary, Sanvir Singh, Anmolpreet Singh, Anmol Malhotra (W.K), Akul Pratap Pandove, Mayank Markande, Mandeep Singh   (captain), Baltej Singh Dhanda, Abhishek Gupta (W.K.).  Munish Bali is the cricket manager of the team

Have something to say? Post your comment