Thursday, July 16, 2020


Top Indian paddlers to take part in national East Zone TT meet

October 17, 2019 05:42 PM

HOWRAH(West Bengal):Top Indian paddlers Antony Amalraj, Harmeet Desai, Sutirtha Mukherjee and Madhurika Patkar will vie for top honours in the UTT National Ranking Table Tennis Championships (East Zone) which begins at the newly built Dumurjala Stadium here on Friday.

Players from 43 States/Institutions will be participating in the event. More than 1087 players (male: 634 and female 453) from five age groups will be seen in action for eight days.

Besides Amalraj, Desai, players like Sudhanshu Grover, Manav Thakkar, Sanil Shetty, Sushmit Sriram, Jeet Chandra will participate in the meet.

Among women Archana Kamat, Madhurika Patkar, Ayikha Mukherjee, Sagarika Mukherjee, Divya Deshpande, Akula Sreeja and Selena Selvakumar will be seen in action.

Top ranked Bengal players like Prapti Sen, Akash Paul, Moumita Dutta, Anirban Ghosh, Arjun Ghosh, Kritwika Sinha Roy, Surabhi Patwari will also vie for the titles in their respective groups.

The tournament has a total prize money of Rs 7, 46, 600. The championships will also have men's team and women's team events for the teams from the Eastern/North Eastern states.

Have something to say? Post your comment