Sidharth and Manisha declared best sailors IN Punjab State Yachting Championship

Y.S.Rana | June 23, 2019 05:52 PM

CHANDIGARH: Sidharth and Manisha were declared best sailors of the two-day Punjab State Yachting Championship-2019 which was concluded here at Sukhna Lake on Sunday.  In the last event of laser class held in the morning, Manisha won gold medal by securing two points and she was followed by Manpreet Kaur of Bathinda with five points won silver medal. Bronze medal of the event went to Amandeep Kaur.

Prize distribution function was also held. Winners were given medals and certificates. Mementos were given to technical and supporting staff those have contributed their best services to make the championship a success. The medals were given away by Mr A.S. Kang, general secretary, Punjab Amateur Yachting Association (PAYA). While speaking on the function he remembered his days as a sportsperson said much has been done for the sports but more was needed to do. He also called upon the participants to send him feed back so that in future deficiency could be removed.

Thirty eight participants of 10 district of Punjab dominated by women locked horn with each other in the championship. Of these, 18 sailors have won medals. HDFC Bank has sponsored the championship.

Final Results—


Prise Boat Event:

1 Manpreet and Amandeep (Bathinda)                        Gold

2 Ashmita and Apoorva Rana (Ropar)                           Silver

3 Madhu Sharma and Manpreet (Amritsar)                 Bronze.


Laser Class (Men)

1 Sidhartha Chauhan                                                             Gold

2 Dharambir Singh                                                             Silver

3 Vikash                                                                                Bronze.


Enterprise Board

1 Navneet Singh and Mahesh Kumar                             Gold

2 Bhupinder Singh and Dilraj Singh                                 Silver

3 Paramjit Singh and Akashdeep                                     Bronze.


Laser Class (Women)

1 Manisha                                                                             Gold

2 Manpreet Kaur                                                                  Silver

3 Amandeep Kaur                                                                Bronze.             


Have something to say? Post your comment

More Sports News

Opinion Poll