Friday, June 05, 2020


Punjab and Sind Bank win Surjit Hockey for 11th time

October 19, 2019 10:48 PM

CHANDIGARH: Punjab and ind Bank, Delhi  clinched the title for the 11th time in the  36th Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey Tournament by beating Indian Oil via penalty shoot out with a  6-3 margin.and bagged Rs 5.50 lakh prize money where as runners up earned Rs 2.50 lakh at the jam-packed Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium in Jalandhar on Saturday night.

 At the end of stipulated time the teams were locked at 2-2. Gaganpreet Singh of  Punjab and Sind Bank Delhi was adjudged best player of tournament and bagged Rs 51000 cash.

Earlier Punjab and Sind Bank won this title in 2013.  Before the match Surjit Hockey Society distributed playing kits and hockey sticks to 550 budding hockey players. The first cash prize of Rs 5.50 lakh sponsored by Gakhal Brothers, USA.   

 The final was played on a very fast note. Indian Oil dominated the first quarter andtook lead in the fourth minute of the play when Roshan Minj scored a field goal (1-0). In the ninth minute Affan Yusuf doubled the margin (2-0). Punjab and Sind Bank dominated the proceeding in second quarter. They reduced margin in the 22nd minute when Gaganpreet Singh converted a penalty corner (1-2). In 27th minute Bank’s Ashish Pal Sharma equalized with a field goal from the pass of Jaskaran Singh (2-2).

At half time both teams were locked at 2-2. In the third quarter both teams played controlled game. At the end of stipulated time both teams were level at 2-2.

The deadlock position was resolved through penalty shoot out. For Bank Maninderjit Singh, Santa Singh, Gaganpreet Singh and Harmanjit Singh scored the goals. For Indian Oil Gurjinder Singh able to score.

Have something to say? Post your comment