Indian men face Bangladesh and women meet Austria in their openers in Youth Olympic Games

September 08, 2018 12:31 PM

Punjab News Express/Balbir Singh
BUENOS AIRES (ARGENTINA): Indian men will open their Pool B campaign when they meet Bangladesh on October 7 and Indian women, placed in Pool A, will be challenged  by Austria on October 7 in  Buenos Aires Youth Olympic Games 2018.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) and the Buenos Aires Youth Olympic Games 2018 organising committee have revealed the Pools and Match Schedule for the hockey events which begin in exactly one month.

In the women’s competition, Pool A includes Argentina, Austria, India, South Africa, Uruguay and Vanuatu, while Pool B involves Australia, China, Mexico, Namibia, Poland and Zimbabwe.

In the men’s event, Argentina, Malaysia, Mexico, Poland, Vanuatu and Zambia will compete in Pool A, while Pool B will see Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Canada, India and Kenya go head to head.

The Pool stages will take place between  October 7 to 11. Classification and quarter-final matches will then be held on October 12, with further classification matches plus the semi-finals on October 13.

The 7/8th and 5/6th matches then take place on  October  14 before the medal matches. The men’s bronze is at 13:00 followed by the women’s at 14:00. The finalists will then go head to head for the gold medals at 15:00 (men) and 16:30 (women) – all times local (ART).

Many of these teams are participating in their first ever Youth Olympic Games. This includes Argentina, Austria, India, Kenya, Malaysia, Poland and Vanuatu in the men’s event and Australia, Austria, India, Mexico, Namibia, Poland, Vanuatu and Zimbabwe and in the women’s competition.

With nations participating from every continent, this edition of the Youth Olympic Games is set to be hugely entertaining, with the future of the game showcasing their raw talent on the global stage.

Taking place in the Youth Olympic Park in the southern area of the city, the Hockey5s events are set to take centre stage with hosts Argentina expected to attract large numbers of local fans, renowned for their passionate support of the sport.

The last edition of this event in Nanjing, China in 2014 saw this year’s participants Australia win gold and Canada silver in the men’s event, with China winning gold and Argentina taking bronze in the women’s event.

Indian schedule: Men: Pool B: Oct 7 India vs Bangladesh; Oct 8 India vs Austria; Oct 9 India vs Kenya; Oct 10 India vs Australia; Oct 11 India vs Canada.

Women: Pool A: Oct 7 India vs Austria; Oct 8 India vs Uruguay; Oct 9 India vs Vanuatu; Oct 10 India vs Argentina; Oct 11 India vs South Africa.

Have something to say? Post your comment

More Sports News

Opinion Poll