Dharun Ayyasamy, Tajinder Pal Singh Toor secure Asian Championships berth

Balbir Singh | March 08, 2019 11:08 AM

MUMBAI: At the recently concluded Indian GP Series, JSW Sports athletes put up a great show as ten of them secured a medal. 400m hurdler Dharun Ayyasamy clinched two golds across Indian GP-1 in Patiala and Indian GP-2 in Delhi. Along with this, he also clinched a berth for Asian Championships to be held in Doha from April 21-24.

Asian Games Gold Medalist Tajinder Pal Singh Toor also secured his berth for the Asian Championships in the first GP winning a gold with a 20.13m throw. 100m sprinter VK Elakkiya Dasan, who trains at Inspire Institute of Sport (IIS), also bagged two medals, a silver at Patiala and gold at Indian GP-3 in Sangrur, Punjab.

Here’s a lowdown of all athletes’ performance across the Indian GP Series.

Indian GP – 1 (Patiala)

Shot Putter Tajinder Pal Singh started the 2019 season with a gold at the Indian Grand Prix-1 held at the National Institute of Sport in Patiala on February 23. The 2018 Asian Games Gold medalist threw the ball a distance of 20.13m at the to finish ahead of Inderjeet Singh who managed 19.35m. Jasdeep Singh took bronze with a best of 18.59m. The attempt sealed Singh’s spot for the Asian Championships to be held in Doha in April.

Besides Tajinder, Dharun Ayyasamy also secured gold in the Men’s 400m hurdles with a timing of 50.05s. Dharun finished ahead of Jabir MP who clocked 50.67s while Ramachandran M clocked 51.27s for bronze.

In Women’s 3000m steeplechase, Parul Chaudhary pipped 2018 Asian Games silver medalist Sudha Singh. Chaudhary, at 10:45.12s, won the gold over experienced Singh who clocked 10:54.80s to settle for a bronze medal. Chinta Yadav came second with a time of 10:46.58.

In men’s 3000m steeplechase, Avinash Sable clocked 8:41.87s to win the gold. Second placed Shankar Lal Swami could only clock 8:57.45s while Durga Bahadur Budha came third with 9:00.01s.

In 100m category, Tamil Nadu sprinters Dhanalakshmi S and VK Elakkiya Dasan secured silver in women and men’s event respectively. Dhanalakshmi clocked 11.98 in the Women’s 100m final to take a credible second position behind Asian Games silver medallist Dutee Chand. IIS ward Elakkiya Dasan, clocking 10.72, finished a close second behind state mate Rajiv Arokia who finished the race at 10.65.

Indian GP – 2 (Delhi)

Bettering the time he clocked in the first GP at Patiala, Dharun Ayyasamy clocked a time of 49.94s to win his second consecutive 400m hurdles gold medal in the 2019 series at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi on February 27.

The 24-year led the Tamil Nadu sweep at the event as Santhosh Kumar took the second place with a timing of 50.77s and Ramachandran won the bronze clocking 50.83s. The sub-50s finish also secured his ticket for the Asian Championships.

Inspire Institute of Sport-trained athletes Jay Shah (Maharashtra) and Praveen Chitravel (TN) won the silver and bronze in the Triple Jump event with 15.44m and 15.40m attempts respectively.

Indian GP – 3 (Sangrur, Punjab)

Long jumper M Sreeshankar came up trumps in his first appearance in the Indian GP Series winning a gold with a 7.74m jump. The national record holder recorded 7.72 in his first attempt and got the medal-winning leap of 7.74m in his second. M Silambarasan, who trains at Inspire Institute of Sport, took the silver with 7.25m jump, making an impressive improvement over his performance at Patiala where he made a best of 7.13 to come fourth.

Dasan won his second medal of the series bettering the previous one in Patiala by winning a gold in the 100m ahead of Noah Nirmal Tom of Kerala (10.82) and Harmanpreet Singh of Punjab (11.02). Despite clocking 10.74, 0.2 seconds slower than what he ran at Patiala, the 24-year old TN athlete managed a top finish.

Have something to say? Post your comment

More Sports News

Opinion Poll